Retry Log

 

Up







 

Just need it for one project?  Click here for Rental Options.

 

Lost Registration Code?  Click here.

Retry Log

Retry Log.shg=

The Retry Log maintains a log of all failed operations along with all information required to try the operation(s) again with a single click (well, O.K. two clicks).

By default, the program saves the retry log in the same location as the mregchg.exe file. The retry log has five different error types, Registry Key, User Right, REGEDIT4 File, Search and Replace, and Registry Security.

The Registry Key type is created when an operation of type Single Key, or Apply from File fails.

User Right errors are generated when a Change User Right entry fails.

REGEDIT4 File errors are created when a Key Group, Import REG file or Advanced REGFILE operation fails.

Search and Replace errors are logged when an operation of that type fails.

Registry Security entries indicate a failure to apply a list of security items to the selected computer.

When an item is sent to the appropriate thread manager to be processed, its record is marked as deleted. If processing fails, a new record will be created.

For errors that use a .REG file, the program will create a copy of the .REG file and save it in the \<EXEDIRECTORY>\REGFILES subdirectory. The filename will be recorded in the Key Path column of the Retry Log. If there are no REGEDIT4 File Errors in the Retry Log, it is safe to delete the \REGFILES subdirectory.

For Registry Security errors, the program will create a copy of the .SEC file and save it in the \<EXEDIRECTORY>\SECFILES subdirectory. The file name will be recorded in the Key Path column of the Retry Log. If there are no Registry Security File Errors in the Retry Log, it is safe to
delete the \SECFILES subdirectory.

From either the Edit Menu or the Right-Click Context Menu, you have the option to:
  • Toggle Deleted: Toggles the selected record(s) deleted status. Records with a deleted status will not be processed. They will remain in the display until the program is closed or they are removed using the Remove Deleted option.
  • Remove Deleted: Removes all records marked as deleted. When a deleted record is removed, either as a result of selecting Remove Deleted, or when the program is closed, associated .REG or .SEC files will also be deleted.
  • Clear All Entries: Removes all Retries (and their associated .REG or .SEC file if one exists).

    From the View Menu or the Right Click Context Menu you can choose to filter the records to:

    Show All Records

    Show only Registry Key entries.

    Show only User Right entries.

    Show REGEDIT4 entries.

    Show Search and Replace entries.

    Show Registry Security entries.

    As with the view menu, from the Process Menu, you can:

    Process All Records.

    Process only Registry Key entries.

    Process only User Right entries.

    Process only REGEDIT4 entries.

    Process only Search and Replace entries.

    Process only Registry Security entries.

    The retry log will store a maximum of 255 characters per Key Name, Value Name and Value.


    Main Window
    Contents

    See Also:

    Substitutions
  • Copyright 1998-2006 Eytcheson Software
    All rights reserved.
    Last Updated:  Saturday, April 29, 2000